Leader's Motion

Item 9 - Annual Appointment of Committees

- a) Appointment of Committees and Review of Allocation of Seats on Committees to Political Groups
- b) Appointment of Members to Committees, Area Boards, and the Dorset and Wiltshire Fire Authority and other bodies
- c) Appointment of Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen Committees

The Leader will move the following:

The Council is asked:

- a) To note the report and the legal requirements.
- b) To re-appoint the following committees with the terms of reference as set out in the Constitution:
 - Strategic Planning Committee
 - Area Planning Committees: Northern, Eastern, Southern and Western
 - Licensing Committee
 - Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee
 - Children's Select Committee
 - Environment Select Committee
 - Health Select Committee
 - Standards Committee
 - Audit and Governance Committee
 - Staffing Policy Committee
 - Officer Appointments Committee
 - Electoral Review Committee
 - Appeals Committee
 - Wiltshire Police and Crime Panel (joint with Swindon Borough Council)
 - Wiltshire Pension Fund Committee (joint with Swindon Borough Council)
 - Health and Wellbeing Board
- c) To re-appoint those Area Boards, as set out at Item 9a Appendix 1 of the report presented and within the Constitution, to comprise the Unitary Members for that area.
- d) To re-appoint the Local Pension Board established under the Public Service Pensions Act 2013 and consequent amendments to the Local Government Pension Scheme Regulations 2013.

- e) To appoint members to the Dorset and Wiltshire Fire Authority, in accordance with the guidance set out in this report.
- f) To delegate the appointment to Outside Bodies (other than those appointed by Leader of the Council or Area Boards) to the Director, Legal and Governance, in consultation with Group Leaders
- g) To approve a scheme of committee places which sets out the number of seats available to members of the Council and to political groups as at Item 9a Appendix 3
- h) To appoint Members to serve on those committees in accordance with the agreed scheme of allocations, until the next occasion membership is reviewed under the provisions of the Local Government & Housing Act 1989 (to be circulated separately).
- i) To appoint substitute members (to a maximum of four per group) to the committees referred to in (b) above.
- j) To appoint those Members representing electoral divisions to their respective Area Boards as set out at Item 9b Appendix 1.
- k) To note that the following persons remain appointed as non-voting co-opted members of the Standards Committee for the remainder of the council term:
 - Gordon Ball
 - Kathy Barnes
 - Joanne Cetti
 - Julie Phillips
- I) To note that the following persons remain appointed as Independent Persons for the remainder of the council term:
 - Tony Drew
 - John McAllister
 - Patricia Bunch
- m) To note the following non-elected members of the Children's Select Committee, with any vacancies able to be filled by the Committee::

Non-Elected Voting Members	Representing
Vacancy	Church of England
Dr Mike Thompson	Clifton Diocese Roman Catholic Church
Vacancy	Parent Governor (Secondary- maintained)
Vacancy	Parent Governor (Secondary – academy)
Vacancy	Parent Governor (Special Educational Needs)

Vacancy	Parent Governor (Primary)
Non-Elected Non-Voting Members	Representing
Maisy Humphrey (Sub Declan Kiely)	School, Children and Young People representatives
Nikki Barnett	Further Education Representative
Sarah Busby	Secondary Schools Head teacher Representative
Catriona Williamson	Primary School Head teacher Representative
John Hawkins	School Teacher Representative

n) To note the following co-opted members of the Wiltshire Pension Fund Committee:

Name	Representing
(to be confirmed – currently Cllr Vijay Manro)	Swindon Borough Councillor (as determined by Swindon Borough Council)
(to be confirmed – currently Cllr Kevin Small)	Swindon Borough Councillor (as determined by Swindon Borough Council)
Jodie Smart (new ratification)	Employer Representative
Claire Anthony	Employer Representative
Stuart Dark	Scheme Member Observer- appointed by Unison
Mike Pankiewicz	Scheme Member Observer- appointed by Unison

To note the membership of the Local Pension Board under the Public Service Pensions Act 2013 until the expiry of the 4 year term council term, or from their first appointment.

Name	Representing
Mark Spilsbury	Independent Chairman
Karle Read	Scheme Member Representative
Marlene Corbey	Scheme Member Representative
Mike Pankiewicz	Scheme Member Representative
Paul Smith	Employer Member Representative

Laura Fisher	Employer Member Representative
James Nicholson	Employer Member Representative

p) To note the following co-opted or other members of the Police and Crime Panel:

Name	Representing
To be confirmed – previously Cllr	Swindon Borough Council (as
Stanka Adamcova	determined by Swindon Borough
	Council)
	,
To be confirmed – currently Cllr Abdul	Swindon Borough Council (as
Amin	determined by Swindon Borough
	Council)
	,
To be confirmed – currently Cllr Sudhi	Swindon Borough Council (as
Sri Nukana	determined by Swindon Borough
	Council)
	,
To be confirmed – currently Cllr Vijay	Swindon Borough Council (as
Manro	determined by Swindon Borough
	Council)
Louisa Ahmeti	Independent co-optee
Louise Williams	Independent co-optee

q) That Council appoint the following 6 members to serve as Council representatives on the Dorset and Wiltshire Fire Authority:

Conservative (4)	Liberal	Independent (0)	Labour (0)
	Democrat (2)		
Cllr Pip Ridout	Paul Sample JP		
Cllr Dan Cave	Brian Dalton		
Cllr Paul Oatway			
Cllr Kelvin Nash			

r) To appoint Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of the following meetings:

Committee	Chairman	Vice-Chairman
Strategic Planning	Howard Greenman	Christopher Newbury
Committee		
Northern Area	Chuck Berry	Howard Greenman
Planning Committee	-	
Eastern Area Planning	Philip Whitehead	Paul Oatway
Committee		-
Southern Area	Andrew Oliver	Sven Hocking
Planning Committee		_

Western Area Planning Committee	Christopher Newbury	Bill Parks
Licensing Committee	Peter Hutton	Allison Bucknell
Standards Committee	Paul Oatway QPM	Allison Bucknell
Audit and Governance Committee	Iain Wallis	Stuart Wheeler
Staffing Policy Committee	Stuart Wheeler	Allison Bucknell
Officer Appointments Committee	Richard Clewer	Laura Mayes
Wiltshire Pension Fund Committee	Richard Britton	Committee Appointment
Health and Wellbeing Board (Chairman only)	Richard Clewer	NA

- s) To note that the Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee, Children's Select Committee, Environment Select Committee, Health Select Committee, the Police and Crime Panel, Electoral Review Committee, and the Area Boards will be asked to elect their respective Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen at their first meeting following the annual meeting of council. The Wiltshire Pension Fund Committee will be asked to elect their Vice-Chairman at the first meeting following the annual meeting of council.
- t) To note that the Appeals Committee does not meet as a formal committee and so no Chairman or Vice-Chairman will be appointed. However, three members who have undergone appropriate training are drawn from its membership to form Appeal Sub-Committees to consider and determine various types of appeals. Each Sub-Committee when convened will elect its own chairman.