If you are reading this page using a screenreader, we support ARIA landmarks for quick navigation too

Committee details


Purpose of committee

The Cabinet is the executive branch of Wiltshire Council. It consists of the leader of the council together with at least two, but not more than nine members of the council appointed to the Cabinet by the leader of the council. The Cabinet will carry out within the council’s policy and budget framework all of the local authority’s functions which are not the responsibility of any other part of the local authority, whether by law or under the constitution.


The Cabinet will meet at least 12 times per year at times to be agreed by the leader. The Cabinet shall meet at the council’s main offices, or another location to be agreed by the leader. Questions or statements from members of the public are welcomed from the public.


At each meeting of the Cabinet the following business will be conducted:

consideration of the minutes of the last meeting

declarations of interest, if any

matters referred to the Cabinet (whether by an overview and scrutiny committee or by the council) for reconsideration by the Cabinet.

matters that individual portfolio holders determine shall be brought before Cabinet as referred to in the Cabinet Forward Work Plan

consideration of reports from overview and scrutiny committees.

matters set out in the agenda for the meeting, with indication which are key decisions.


Portfolio Holders


Some Cabinet members are assisted by Portfolio Holders covering particular areas. Although the Portfolio Holders do not have decision making powers, they support their respective Cabinet member and are also a useful resource and point of contact for members and officers. 


The current list of Portfolio Holders and the Cabinet member that they support are as follows:


Cabinet Members


Portfolio Holders

Baroness Jane Scott of Bybrook OBE

Leader of the Council

Allison Bucknell (systems thinking)

John Thomson

Deputy Leader of the Council and Cabinet member for Communities, Campuses, Area Boards and Broadband

Chris Williams

(campuses and area boards)

Richard (Dick) Tonge

Cabinet member for Finance

Laura Mayes

Cabinet member for Childrens’ Services

Richard Gamble (schools, skills and youth)

Jerry Wickham

Cabinet member for Health (including Public Health and Adult Social Care)

Sheila Parker (adult care - including Learning Disability and Mental Health)

Peter Hutton (Public Protection Services)

Fleur de Rhe Philipe

Cabinet member for Economic Development, Skills and Strategic Transport

Toby Sturgis

Cabinet member for Strategic Planning, Development Management, Strategic Housing, Property and Waste

Fred Westmoreland (planning)

Alan MacRae (Waste)

Stuart Wheeler

Cabinet member for Hubs, Heritage and Arts, Governance and Support Services

Allison Bucknell (staffing equalities, customer care)

Jonathon Seed

Cabinet member for Housing, Leisure, Libraries and Flooding

Richard Clewer (housing and libraries)

Jerry Kunkler (leisure and sport)

Philip Whitehead

Cabinet member for Highways and Transport

Horace Prickett (transport)





Contact information

Support officer: Yamina Rhouati. Email: yamina.rhouati@wiltshire.gov.uk

Phone: 01225 718024

Email: Yamina.Rhouati@wiltshire.gov.uk




This website