

OFFICER APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE

DRAFT MINUTES OF THE OFFICER APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE MEETING HELD ON 2 NOVEMBER 2017 AT CH - RUDMAN ROOM, - COUNTY HALL, TROWBRIDGE.

Present:

Cllr Baroness Scott of Bybrook OBE (Chairman), Cllr John Thomson (Vice Chairman), Cllr Bridget Wayman, Cllr Jerry Wickham and Cllr Ian Thorn

41 Apologies

There were no apologies for absence.

42 **Declaration of Interests**

There were no declarations of interest made at the meeting.

43 Chairman's Announcements

There were no Chairman's announcements.

44 Public Participation

No members of the public were in attendance.

45 Appointments following Changes to the Senior Management Structure

The Committee received a report by the Corporate Directors which presented candidates recommended for appointment into the following posts on the grounds of suitable alternative employment within the Council's new senior management structure:-

- Director Legal and Democratic Services (Monitoring Officer).
- Director Finance and Procurement (Section 151 officer).
- Director HR&OD (Head of Paid Service)
- Director Communities and Communications

- Director Corporate Services and Digital
- Director Highways and Transport
- Director Waste and Environment

46 Urgent Items

There were no urgent items of business.

47 <u>Exclusion of the Public</u>

Resolved:

To agree that in accordance with Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 to exclude the public from the meeting for the business specified in Minute No.48 because it is likely that if members of the public were present there would be disclosure to them of exempt information as defined in paragraph 1 of Part I of Schedule 12A to the Act and the public interest in withholding the information outweighs the public interest in disclosing the information to the public.

48 Appointments following Changes to the Senior Management Structure (continued)

Appendix 8 of the Corporate Directors' report was presented and after discussion,

Resolved:

To appoint officers to the following posts as indicated with effect from 6 November 2017:

- Director Legal and Democratic Services (Monitoring Officer) Mr lan Gibbons
- Director Finance and Procurement (Section 151 officer) Mr
 Michael Hudson
- Director HR&OD (Head of Paid Service) Mrs Joanne Pitt
- Director Communities and Communications Mrs Laurie Bell
- Director Corporate Services and Digital Mr Robin Townsend
- Director Highways and Transport Mr Parvis Khansari
- Director Waste and Environment Ms Tracy Carter

subject to:-

(1) all the above appointments being subject to a statutory trial period of four weeks except for Mrs Joanne Pitt whose trial period is extended to 12 weeks as she will be new in post at tier two, and (2) after consultation with the Leader and Cabinet members in accordance with paragraph 5(2) of the Officer Employment Procedure Rules.

(Duration of meeting: 10.30 am - 10.45 am)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Roger Bishton, of Democratic & Members' Services, direct line 01225 713035, e-mail roger.bishton@wiltshire.gov.uk

Press enquiries to Communications, direct line (01225) 713114/713115