Where everybody matters

Wiltshire Council

OFFICER APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE

DRAFT MINUTES OF THE OFFICER APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE MEETING HELD ON 6 APRIL 2011 AT COMMITTEE ROOM III - COUNTY HALL, TROWBRIDGE.

Present:

Cllr Christopher Newbury, Cllr John Noeken (Substitute), Cllr Fleur de Rhe-Philipe (Substitute) and Cllr John Thomson (Vice-Chair, in the Chair)

26. Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Cllr Jane Scott (who was substituted by Cllr John Noeken) and from Cllr Lionel Grundy (who was substituted by Cllr Fleur de Rhe Philipe) and Cllr Jon Hubbard.

27. Minutes of Previous Meeting

Resolved:

To confirm and sign the minutes of the previous meeting held on 14 December 2010 as a correct record.

28. Urgent Items

None

29. Exclusion of the Public

Resolved:

To agree that in accordance with Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 to exclude the public from the meeting for the business specified in Minute No. 30 below because it was likely that if members of the public were present there would be disclosure to them of exempt information as defined in paragraph 1 of Part I of Schedule 12A to the Act and the public interest in withholding the information outweighs the public interest in disclosing the information to the public.

30. Appointment of Digital Inclusion Projects Manager

The Committee considered a confidential report regarding the appointment to this post.

The Corporate Director, Children's Services explained the background to this post and explained that although not at service director level, the post holder would report direct to her. She explained the main duties and responsibilities of the post holder.

The meeting adjourned to allow for interview and reconvened to make a decision.

Resolved:

That subject to complying with paragraph 5 (2) of the Officer Employment Procedure Rules – Part 15 of the Constitution, to approve the appointment of Ian Baker, as Digital Inclusion Project Manager, Department for Children and Education on a fixed term, five year appointment effective from 1 June 2011.

(Duration of meeting: 11.00 am - 12.20 pm)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Wendy Packer, of Democratic & Members' Services, direct line 01225 713018, e-mail <u>wendy.packer@wiltshire.gov.uk</u>

Press enquiries to Communications, direct line (01225) 713114/713115