# **Electoral Review Committee**

### MINUTES OF THE ELECTORAL REVIEW COMMITTEE MEETING HELD ON 28 SEPTEMBER 2022 AT COUNCIL CHAMBER - COUNTY HALL, BYTHESEA ROAD, TROWBRIDGE, BA14 8JN.

#### Present:

Cllr Ian Blair-Pilling (Chairman), Cllr Gavin Grant (Vice-Chairman), Cllr Allison Bucknell, Cllr Jacqui Lay, Cllr Ashley O'Neill and Cllr Ian Thorn

### 37 Apologies

Apologies were received from:

- Cllr Stuart Wheeler
- Cllr Ernie Clark
- Cllr Paul Oatway
- Cllr Ian McLennan

### 38 Minutes of the Previous Meeting

The minutes of the previous meeting held on 8 August 2022 were presented, it was;

### **Resolved:**

### To approve and sign the minutes as a true and correct record.

### 39 **Declarations of Interest**

Cllr Gavin Grant noted that as he was also a member of Malmesbury Town Council and the Malmesbury Deputy Mayor, he would not take part in the discussion or vote during consideration of the Malmesbury and surrounding proposals, in his capacity as a Committee Member, but instead would speak in his role as a Malmesbury Town Councillor.

### 40 Chairman's Announcements

There were no announcements.

# 41 **Public Participation**

No questions or statements had been received within the timeframe as indicated on the agenda.

# 42 Community Governance Review 2021/22

The Committee considered the report and the two consultation responses which were in support of the proposals and noted the options available, which were:

- To confirm the remaining draft recommendations for consideration by Full Council,
- To remove some recommendations and refer the remainder to Full Council for consideration, or
- To amend the recommendations.

After discussion, it was:

# **Resolved**

To confirm the following remaining draft recommendations for consideration by Full Council:

7.3 That the renamed parish of Derry Hill & Studley contain Eleven councillors across three wards: 1) Pewsham 2) Derry Hill & Studley 3) Bowood and Sandy Lane, as set out in the map.

8.1 That Malmesbury Town Council contain a total of 17 councillors in the following wards as shown in the map below: Backbridge Ward (two councillors), Malmesbury North Ward (six councillors), Malmesbury South (two councillors), Malmesbury West (seven councillors).

8.2 The parish of St Paul Malmesbury Without be unwarded, with Twelve Councillors.

# 43 Community Governance Review 2022/23

The Committee received a verbal update on the agreed CGR schemes for 2022/23.

Information sheets for each of the schemes had been circulated to all Town or Parish councils which had submitted a scheme. In addition, each had been invited to an informal information gathering session to discuss the proposals prior to the formal information gathering phase.

Scheme information sheets for each of the following were available online:

01 Westbury / Heywood / Bratton – transfer/merger/abolish

02 Ludgershall / Tidworth – transfer / Cllr numbers

03 Netheravon/Figheldean, - transfer

04 Grittleton / Nettleton / Castle Combe - transfer

05 Biddestone and Slaughterford / Yatton Keynell,

06 Warminster – Cllr numbers

07 Donhead St Mary – Cllr numbers

08 Fovant – Cllr numbers

09 Monkton Farleigh – Cllr numbers 10 Grimstead – unwarding / Cllr numbers

There had been one request to withdraw a scheme, which would be considered at the next meeting when the Committee would be presented with a full report.

It was;

# **Resolved**

To note the CGR 2022/23 update.

# 44 Date of the Next Meeting

It was;

Resolved

That the next meeting be held on 21 December 2022.

# 45 Urgent Items

There were no urgent items.

(Duration of meeting: 1.00 - 2.00 pm)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Lisa Alexander of Democratic Services, direct line 01722 434560, e-mail <u>lisa.alexander@wiltshire.gov.uk</u>

Press enquiries to Communications, direct line (01225) 713114 or email <u>communications@wiltshire.gov.uk</u>