

OFFICER APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE

DRAFT MINUTES OF THE OFFICER APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE MEETING HELD ON 14 JULY 2011 AT COMMITTEE ROOM VII - COUNTY HALL, TROWBRIDGE.

Present:

Cllr Peter Colmer (Substitute), Cllr Christopher Newbury, Cllr John Noeken (Substitute), Cllr Fleur de Rhe-Philipe (Substitute) and Cllr John Thomson (Vice Chairman)

31. Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Cllr Lionel Grundy (who was substituted by Cllr Fleur de Rhe Philipe), Cllr Jon Hubbard (who was substituted by Cllr Peter Colmer) and Cllr Jane Scott (who was substituted by Cllr Jon Noeken).

32. Minutes of Previous Meeting

Resolved:

To confirm and sign the minutes of the previous meeting held on 6 April 2011 as a correct record.

33. <u>Declaration of Interests</u>

There were no declarations of interest.

34. **Chairman's Announcements**

There were no Chairman's announcements.

35. Public Participation

There were no members of the public present or councillors' questions.

36. Urgent Items

There were no urgent items.

37. Exclusion of the Public

Resolved:

To agree that in accordance with Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 to exclude the public from the meeting for the business specified in Minute Nos. 38 & 39 because it is likely that if members of the public were present there would be disclosure to them of exempt information as defined in paragraph 1 of Part I of Schedule 12A to the Act and the public interest in withholding the information outweighs the public interest in disclosing the information to the public.

38. Appointments following Changes to Senior Management Structure

Consideration was given to a report by the Chief Executive which recommended candidates for appointment into the following posts on the grounds of suitable alternative employment:-

- a. Director Communications
- b. Director Law & Governance
- c. Service Director Policy, Performance & Partnerships
- d. Service Director Communities, Libraries, Heritage & Arts
- e. Service Director Business Services

The Chief Executive explained that the Corporate Leadership Team and the Cabinet had reviewed the alignment of senior management responsibilities to ensure that the Council's published 4 Year Business Plan could be delivered. The Committee noted the various changes to the senior management structure which had resulted from the realignment of responsibilities and which were set out in a structure chart in Appendix 6 to the report.

After discussion,

Resolved:

To approve the following appointments with effect from 1 August 2011, subject to consultation with the Leader of the Council and Cabinet members in accordance with paragraph 5(2) of the Officer Employment Rules:-

- (a) Laurie Bell Director, Communications
- (b) Ian Gibbons Director, Law & Governance
- (c) Sharon Britton Service Director, Policy, Performance & Partnerships

- (d) Nikki Lewis Service Director, Communities, Libraries, Heritage & Arts
- (e) Jacqui White Service Director, Business Services

39. Temporary Appointment of Director - Finance/Section 151 Officer

On considering a confidential report by the Chief Executive,

Resolved:

To approve the appointment of Michael Hudson as Director, Finance for a fixed term of seven months from 1 September 2011 to 31 March 2012, on terms as set out in the report, subject to consultation with the Leader of the Council and Cabinet members in accordance with paragraph 5(2) of the Officer Employment Rules.

(Duration of meeting: 12.00noon – 12.30pm)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Roger Bishton, of Democratic & Members' Services, direct line (01225) 713035, e-mail roger.bishton@wiltshire.gov.uk

Press enquiries to Communications, direct line (01225) 713114/713115