

REGULATORY COMMITTEE

MINUTES of a MEETING held at COUNTY HALL, TROWBRIDGE on WEDNESDAY, 4 FEBRUARY, 2004.

<u>PRESENT</u>: Mr M Connolly (Chairman), Mr B E Atfield, Mr PR Davis, Mr JP Johnson, Mr A Molland, Mr AI Moore, Mr C Newbury, Mr CEG Read, Mrs P Rugg, Mrs MSN Taylor, Mr IC West and Mr RM Willan.

Mr TW Carbin, Miss M F de Rhé-Philipe, Mrs G Hill, Mr WR Moss and Mr JB Osborn also attended the meeting.

3. Minutes of Previous Meeting

<u>Resolved</u>: To confirm and sign the minutes of the Committee meeting held on 7 January 2004.

4. **Members' Interests** Mrs P Rugg declared a personal interest in agenda item no. 12, Request for Free Transport to Lavington School for Pupils from Patney (see Minute No. 9 below) as she was a Governor of Devizes School, the designated school for free transport entitlement for secondary school pupils living in Patney. She would however take part in the discussion and vote.

5. **Explosives Panel**

<u>Resolved</u>: To appoint Mr CEG Read as a member of the Explosives Panel, consequent upon the resignation of Mrs NS Bryant, and to name Mr M Connolly as Chairman.

6. **Petitions**

(1) **Donhead St Andrew/Donhead St Mary: Condition of Roads** At the beginning of this item, Cllr. JA Cole-Morgan, the local District Councillor, made a statement in support of the petition to which the Chairman responded.

On considering a report by the Director of Environmental Services,

<u>Resolved</u>:

(1) To continue to use the results of the latest survey techniques for allocating the highway maintenance budget.

- (2) To arrange for Mr RM Willan, as local member, Cllr. JA Cole-Morgan and the Chairman of the Parish Council to meet with the highways engineer on site.
- *(3) To inform the petitioners accordingly.*
- (2) **Trowbridge: Newtown School Pelican Crossing** At the beginning of this item, Mrs N Phillips, Chairman of Newtown School Governors, made a statement in support of the petition to which the Chairman responded.

On considering a report by the Director of Environmental Services and on hearing the views of Mrs G Hill and Mr JB Osborn as local members,

<u>Resolved</u>: To hold a site inspection for all members of this Committee, together with Mrs G Hill and Mr JB Osborn on Tuesday 10 February 2004 at 3.00pm and to request a report back to this Committee at its next meeting.

7. **Melksham Without: Bowerhill – Objections to Waiting Restrictions** On considering a report by the Director of Environmental Services,

<u>Resolved</u>:

- (1) To implement the proposals as advertised with the exception of the limited waiting which will be deleted from the proposals.
- (2) To inform the objectors accordingly.
- 8. **Westbury: The Ham Traffic Calming** At the beginning of this item, Mr R Hall, Mrs J Smith, Mr D Jenkins, residents of Westbury and Mr. F Morland, a resident of Chapmanslade made statements about the traffic calming proposals and Mr R West, a resident of Westbury asked a related question to which the Chairman responded.

On considering a report by the Director of Environmental Services,

<u>Resolved</u>:

- (1) To implement the traffic calming proposals at The Ham, Westbury, as set out on the plan at Appendix 2 to the report.
- (2) To request the officers to monitor the situation and to report back to this Committee after the traffic calming measures have been in operation for 12 months.
- (3) To request the officers to investigate parking problems on The Ham and to report back to this Committee in due course.
- (4) To inform the correspondents accordingly.

9. **Request for Free Transport to Lavington School for Pupils from Patney** At the beginning of this item, Mrs Taplin and Mrs Gale, parents of children residing in Patney made statements in support of the request for free transport to Lavington School to which the Chairman responded.

On considering a report by the Director of Environmental Services and additional detailed information presented by the Director, Department for Children, Education & Libraries in answer to points raised by members of the Committee,

<u>Resolved</u>: To endorse the County Council's School Transport Policy and to retain Devizes School as the designated school for secondary school pupils living in the civil Parish of Patney.

(Mr A Molland requested that his vote against the motion be recorded.)

10. **Exclusion of the Public**

<u>Resolved</u>: To agree that in accordance with Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 to exclude the public from the meeting for the business specified in Minute Number 11 because it is likely that if members of the public were present there would be disclosure to them of exempt information as defined in paragraph 5 of Part I of Schedule 12A to the Act.

11. Appeal against Refusal of Free Transport from Bincknoll to Wootton Bassett School (DH-D 27.7.92) On considering a confidential report by the Director of Environmental Services,

<u>Resolved</u>: To confirm the officers' decision that the route from the applicant's home to Wootton Bassett School is safe for a child to walk, accompanied as necessary by a responsible adult.

(Mr BE Atfield, Mr PR Davis and Mr IC West requested that their votes against the motion be recorded.)

(Duration of meeting: 10.30am – 12.30pm)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Roger Bishton, Democratic & Members' Services, direct line (01225) 713035 or e-mail <u>rogerbishton@wiltshire.gov.uk</u> Press enquiries to Communications, direct line (01225) 713114/713115.