REGULATORY COMMITTEE



website: www.wiltshire.gov.uk

MINUTES of a MEETING of the REGULATORY COMMITTEE held at COUNTY HALL, TROWBRIDGE on WEDNESDAY 19 MARCH 2008.

PRESENT:

Mr A Davis (Chairman), Mr E Clark, Mr PR Davis, Mr AN Deane, Mrs HM Dixon, Mrs SK Doubell, Mrs MEM Groom, Mrs P Rugg, Mrs MSN Taylor and Mr IC West.

- 6. **Apologies** Apologies for absence were received from Mr JP Johnson, Mr WR Moss and Mr RS While.
- 7. Members' Interests Mr PR Davis stated that he did not consider that he had either a personal or a prejudicial interest in agenda no. 8 Corsham: Extension to Underground Mine Workings (Part Retrospective) at Elm Park Mine, Lane's End, Gastard for Wessex Dimensional Stone Ltd. (N.06.07030) (see Minute No. 9 below). However, because some concern regarding his position had been raised by certain local residents, he had decided that he would leave the Chamber during consideration of this item.
- 8. Minutes of Previous Meeting

<u>Resolved</u>: To confirm and sign the minutes of the Committee meeting held on 13 February 2008.

9. Corsham: Extension to Underground Mine Workings (Part Retrospective) at Elm Park Mine, Lane's End, Gastard for Wessex Dimensional Stone Ltd (N.06.07030) At the beginning of the item the Committee received a statement from Mrs Whitehouse which set out the views of Mrs S Wickham, a resident of Chapel Knapp to which the Chairman responded.

The Committee then considered a report by the Director of Environmental Services which recommended that planning permission be granted subject to conditions.

It was noted that at its meeting on 19 December 2007, the Committee had resolved to defer consideration of the application to enable officers to bring back a further report in relation to the noise issue. The Committee considered in detail the issues relating to noise after which it was

<u>Resolved</u>: To grant planning permission, subject to the conditions and for the reasons set out in the Director's report but with Condition No. 14 being amended to read as follows:-

Except in cases of emergency or to maintain safe working conditions in the mine, (which shall be notified to the Mineral Planning Authority in writing within 2 days of such occurrence arising) no pneumatic breakers or equipment of a percussive type shall be used to extract stone within the mine.

10. <u>Latton: Inert Aggregate Recycling Facility at Eysey Manor Quarry near</u>

<u>Cricklade for Tarmac Ltd (N.07.07017)</u> Consideration was given to a report by the Director of Environmental Services which recommended that planning permission be granted subject to conditions.

It was noted that at its last meeting on 13 February 2008, the Committee resolved to defer consideration of this application pending receipt of a further report by the officers in relation to how the suggested 'Transport Plan' would control vehicle movements to the facility and how these would be enforced.

The Committee thereupon heard the views of Mrs HM Dixon, as local member, who, in thanking the officers for the work undertaken, requested that contact details should be readily available to the residents of Latton should they need to report traffic problems in the future. The officers agreed to inform members of the Committee of the outcome of the consultations regarding the proposed Transport Plan which would show the routing to be used for HGVs travelling to and from the site and avoiding Cricklade and Latton.

<u>Resolved</u>: To grant planning permission, subject to the conditions and for the reasons set out in the Director's report.

(Mr PR Davis requested that his abstention from voting be recorded.)

11. Wootton Bassett: Change of Use of existing Light Industry to the Recovery. Recycling and Transfer of Specialised Waste at Unit 12a Whitehill Industrial Estate (N.07.07021) On considering a report by the Director of Environmental Services.

<u>Resolved</u>: To grant planning permission, subject to the conditions and for the reasons set out in the Director's report.

(Duration of meeting: 10.30am – 11.35am)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Roger Bishton, Democratic & Members' Services, direct line (01225) 713035 or e-mail rogerbishton@wiltshire.gov.uk

Press enquiries to Communications, direct line (01225) 713114/713115.