Draft Minutes of the Cricklade and Wootton Bassett Area (2) Committee Meeting held on Wednesday 14 January 2009 at Wootton Bassett Memorial Hall

Present: Councillor C. Wannell (Chairman)

Councillors A.M. Bucknell, P.J. Doyle, G. Greenaway, M.E.M. Groom, M. Hatton, P. Roberts, W. Roberts, S. Still and A Wannell

County, Town and Parish Representatives:

Councillor V Stubbings – Broadtown Parish Council Councillor D Tetlow – Cricklade Town Council Councillor B Atfield – Cricklade Town Council

Officers Present:

P Barnett (Head of ICT), J Cogswell (Community Partnership Manager), S Milton (Area Boards Development Manager), K Scott (Area Board Project Manager) and M Todd (Senior Democratic Services Officer)

CR35. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors H Dixon (Wiltshire County Counci), J Lay (North Wiltshire District Council), Inspector S Cox (Wiltshire Police) and J Howes (Wiltshire PCT)

CR36. Public Questions/Receipt of Petitions

No public questions or petitions were received.

CR37. Minutes

The minutes of the meetings held on 12 November and 2 December 2008 were considered.

Resolved that the minutes of the meetings of the Cricklade and Wootton Bassett Area Committee held on 12 November and 2 December 2008 be approved and signed as a correct record.

CR38. Chairman's Announcements

(a) Energy Efficiency Grant Scheme

The Chairman announced that this was likely to be the last time that the District Council's Area 2 Committee would meet in the Wootton Bassett Memorial Hall – one of the best venues in the area. The building was now much improved and much warmer due to just under £22,000 awarded to the hall under the Council's Energy Efficiency Grant Scheme. The Chairman thanked Veronica Stubbings for all the work she had put into organising the new loft insulation, heating and lighting. This would help to keep the hall an important community building for years to come.

(b) <u>Repatriation Ceremony</u>

The Chairman informed members that there would be a repatriation ceremony in Wootton Bassett for a Royal Marine who had recently been killed. The ceremony would take place on Tuesday 20 January 2009 at 1pm.

CR39. Declarations of Interest

Name	Item	Type of Interest	Nature of Interest	Action
Councillor M Hatton	Item No. 6(4) – Cricklade Historical Society	Personal	Member of Cricklade Historical Society	Spoke and Voted

CR40. Area 2 Community Area Awards Funding Distribution 2008/09

Consideration was given to report no. 6 considering four applications with recommendations for funding under the 2008/09 Community Area Award Scheme.

Francis Marshallsay spoke in favour of the grant application for the Wootton Bassett District guides.

It was noted that a presentation would take place at the next Area Committee meeting in March giving details of all the projects that had been funded by the Area 2 Committee.

Resolved that funding distribution of the Area 2 Community Awards budget based on the agreed criteria for 2008/09 be agreed as follows:-

<u>Purton Childminding Group -</u> Award £405 from the Project budget, to purchase toys/equipment to set up a Toy Library for childminders, parents and other agencies to use, conditional on the balance of the funding being in place and the award being paid to the recipient before 31 March 2009;

<u>Wootton Bassett District Guides</u> – Award £800 from the Capital budget to purchase camping equipment to enable the group to take as many guides camping as possible, conditional on the balance of the funding being in place and the award being paid to the recipient before 31 March 2009;

<u>Leigh Parish Council</u> – Award £843 from the streetscene budget for the replacement of an information board at the Chancel, Waterhay in Leigh, conditional on the balance of the funding being in place and the award being paid to the recipient before 31 March 2009; and <u>Cricklade Historical Society</u> – Award £511 from the capital budget to purchase new multimedia equipment for presentation purposes, conditional on the balance of the funding being in place and the award being paid to the recipient before 31 March 2009.

The meeting started at 7pm and finished at 7.15pm.

There were 6 members of the public present.