Wiltshire Council Where everybody matters

OFFICER APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE

MINUTES OF THE OFFICER APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE MEETING HELD ON 2 FEBRUARY 2018 AT THE PITMAN ROOM, COUNTY HALL, BYTHESEA ROAD, TROWBRIDGE, BA14 8JN.

Present:

Cllr Baroness Scott of Bybrook OBE (Chairman), Cllr John Thomson (Vice-Chairman), Cllr Jerry Wickham, Cllr Ian Thorn and Cllr Laura Mayes (Substitute)

32 Apologies

An apology was received from Cllr Bridget Wayman, who was substituted by Cllr Laura Mayes.

33 Minutes of Previous Meetings

Resolved:

To confirm and sign the minutes of the meetings held on 10, 16 and 26 January 2018.

34 **Declaration of Interests**

There were no declarations of interest made at the meeting.

35 Chairman's Announcements

There were no Chairman's announcements.

36 **Public Participation**

No members of the public were present.

37 Urgent Items

There were no urgent items of business.

38 Exclusion of the Public

Resolved:

To agree that in accordance with Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 to exclude the public from the meeting for the business specified in Minute No. 39 because it is likely that if members of the public were present there would be disclosure to them of exempt information as defined in paragraph 1 of Part I of Schedule 12A to the Act and the public interest in withholding the information outweighs the public interest in disclosing the information to the public.

39 Appointment of Director of Commissioning

The Committee conducted an interview and selection process to appoint to the role of Director of Commissioning.

After conducting formal interviews, the Committee decided to adjourn in order that Members could give further consideration to various issues that had been raised and to reconvene on Thursday 8 February 2018 at 11.30am in the Leader's Office.

The Committee, reconvened on Thursday 8 February 2018 in the Leader's Office at 12.00noon and put further questions to one candidate.

After discussion

Resolved:

To appoint Helen Jones to the post of Director, Commissioning from a date to be agreed, subject to consultation with the Leader and Cabinet Members in accordance with paragraph 5(2) of the Officer Employment Procedure Rules.

(Duration of meeting: Friday 2 February 2018: 9.30am – 3.00pm Thursday 8 February 2018: 12.00noon – 1.45pm)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Roger Bishton, of Democratic & Members' Services, direct line 01225 713035, e-mail <u>roger.bishton@wiltshire.gov.uk</u>

Press enquiries to Communications, direct line (01225) 713114/713115