Leader's Motion

Item 11 - Appointment of Committees and Review of Allocation of Seats on Committees to Political Groups

- a) Appointment of Committees and Review of Allocation of Seats on Committees to Political Groups
- b) Appointment of Area Boards, Councillors to Committees and the Dorset and Wiltshire Fire Authority
- c) Appointment of Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen Committees

The Leader, once elected, will move the following:

The Council is asked:

- a) To note this report and the legal requirements.
- b) To re-appoint the following committees with the terms of reference as set out in the Constitution:-

Appeals Committee

Area Planning Committees: Eastern, Northern, Southern and Western

Audit and Governance Committee

Children's Select Committee

Electoral Review Committee

Environment Select Committee

Health Select Committee

Health and Wellbeing Board

Investment Sub Committee

Licensing Committee

Officer Appointments

Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee

Wiltshire Pension Fund Committee

Police and Crime Panel

Staffing Policy Committee

Standards Committee

Strategic Planning Committee

c) To re-appoint those Area Boards, constituted as area committees under item 10a Appendix 1 of the report presented and within the Constitution, to comprise the Unitary Councillors for that area.

- d) To approve a scheme of committee places which sets out the number of seats available to members of the Council and to political groups as 10a (Appendix 3)
- e) To appoint councillors to serve on those committees in accordance with the agreed scheme of allocations.
- f) To appoint substitute members (to a maximum of four per group) to the committees referred to in (A) above (as attached).
- g) To appoint those councillors representing electoral divisions to their respective area boards as set out 10b Appendix 1.
- h) To note that Council has previously delegated the appointment of co-opted members of the Standards Committee, to the Committee.
- i) To appoint the following persons as Independent Persons each for a four year term from May 2021:

Tony Drew

Damian Kearney

Patricia Bunch

j) To reappoint the following non-elected members to the Children's Select Committee:-

Non-Elected Voting Members	Representing
Vacancy	Church of England
Dr Mike Thompson	Clifton Diocese Roman Catholic Church
Vacancy	Parent Governor (Secondary- maintained)
Vacancy	Parent Governor (Secondary – academy)
Vacancy	Parent Governor (Special Educational Needs)
Vacancy	Parent Governor (Primary)
Non-Elected Non-Voting Members	Representing
Maisy Humphrey (Sub Declan Kiely)	School, Children and Young People representatives
Nikki Barnett	Further Education Representative
Sarah Busby	Secondary Schools Head teacher Representative

Non-Elected Voting Members	Representing
Catriona Williamson	Primary School Head teacher Representative
John Hawkins	School Teacher Representative

k) To re-appoint the following co-opted members to the Wiltshire Pension Fund Committee:

Name	Representing
Swindon Borough Councillor	Swindon Borough Councillor (as determined by Swindon Borough Council 21 May)
Swindon Borough Councillor	Swindon Borough Councillor (as determined by Swindon Borough Council 21 May)
Diane Hall	Employer Representative
Vacancy (to be appointed in July)	Employer Representative
Stuart Dark	Scheme Member Observer- appointed by Unison
Mike Pankiewicz	Scheme Member Observer- appointed by Unison

To reappoint the Investment Sub Committee in accordance with its Terms of Reference with the following co-opted members:

Name	Representing
Swindon Borough Councillor	Swindon Borough (as determined by Swindon Borough Council 21 May)
Cllr Gordon King	Wiltshire Council member of Wiltshire Pension Fund Committee.

 To re-appoint the Local Pension Board under the Public Service Pensions Act 2013 until the expiry of the 4 year term

Name	Representing
Mark Spilsbury	Independent Chairman
Rod Lauder	Scheme Member Representative
Barry Reed	Scheme Member Representative
Mike Pankiewicz	Scheme Member Representative
Paul Smith	Employer Member Representative
Vacancy	Employer Member Representative
lan Jones	Employer Member Representative

m) To re-appoint the following co-opted members to the Police and Crime Panel:

Name	Representing	
Swindon Borough Councillor	Swindon Borough Council (as	
	determined by Swindon Borough	
	Council)	
Swindon Borough Councillor	Swindon Borough Council (as	
	determined by Swindon Borough	
	Council)	
Swindon Borough Councillor	Swindon Borough Council (as	
	determined by Swindon Borough	
	Council)	
Swindon Borough Councillor	Swindon Borough Council (as	
	determined by Swindon Borough	
	Council)	
Mamie Beasant	Independent co-optee	
Anna Richardson	Independent co-optee	

n) That Council appoint the following 6 members to serve as Council representatives on the Dorset and Wiltshire Fire Authority:

Conservative (4)	Liberal	Independent (0)	Labour (0)
	Democrat (2)		
Cllr Pip Ridout	Bob Jones		
Cllr Ashley O'Neill	Brian Dalton		
Cllr Paul Oatway			
Cllr Kelvin Nash			

o) To appoint Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of the following meetings:

Committee	Chairman	Vice-Chairman
Strategic Planning	Howard Greenman	Tony Trotman
Committee		-
Area Planning	Philip Whitehead	Paul Oatway
Committee – Eastern		
Area Planning	Tony Trotman	Howard Greenman
Committee – Northern		
Area Planning	Richard Britton	Sven Hocking
Committee – Southern		
Area Planning	Christopher Newbury	Bill Parks
Committee – Western		

Audit and Governance Committee	Mark Connolly	Stuart Wheeler
Health and Wellbeing Board (Chairman only)	Richard Clewer	NA
Licensing Committee	Peter Hutton	Allison Bucknell
Committee	Chairman	Vice-Chairman
Officer Appointments	Richard Clewer	Laura Mayes
Pension Fund Committee	Richard Britton	Edward Kirk
Staffing Policy Committee	Stuart Wheeler	Simon Jacobs
Standards Committee	Paul Oatway	Allison Bucknell

- p) To note that the Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee, the Select Committees, the Police and Crime Panel, Electoral Review Committee, and the Area Boards will be asked to elect their respective Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen at their first meeting following the annual meeting of council.
- q) To note that the Appeals Committee does not meet as a formal committee. However, three members who have undergone appropriate training are drawn from its membership to form Appeal Panels to consider and determine various types of appeals. Each panel when convened will elect its own chairman.