

Standards Committee

MINUTES OF THE STANDARDS COMMITTEE MEETING HELD ON 27 JULY 2021 AT THE LANSDOWN HALL, CIVIC CENTRE, TROWBRIDGE

Present:

Cllr Paul Oatway QPM (Chairman), Cllr Ruth Hopkinson, Cllr Sam Pearce-Kearney, Cllr Pip Ridout and Cllr Derek Walters

The meeting location was changed from the Council Chamber, County Hall, due to flooding making the venue unavailable.

12 Apologies for Absence

Apologies were received from Councillors Allison Bucknell, Andrew Davis, Matthew Dean, Bill Parks, Mike Sankey and Iain Wallis.

13 Minutes

The minutes of the meeting held on 15 June 2021 were presented for consideration, and it was,

Resolved:

To approve and sign the minutes as a true and correct record.

14 **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations.

15 **Chairman's Announcements**

At the close of the meeting the Chairman updated the Committee on the random dip sampling of Code of Conduct complaints he had conducted since the last meeting, which had not identified any issues.

16 **Public Participation**

There were no statements or questions submitted.

17 Co-Opted Non-Voting Member of the Standards Committee

On recommendation of the Standards Committee, Full Council at its meeting on 23 February 2021 had resolved that four co-opted non-voting members of the Standards Committee be appointed for the new council term. The appointment of those members was delegated to the Standards Committee.

As detailed in the report, an advert was published in April 2021 until the end of June 2021. Over 25 applications were received, with 15 candidates shortlisted for interview. Following the interview process four candidates were recomemnded for appointment.

The Committee received the report, and after a brief discussion, on the motion of Councillor Pip Ridout, seconded by Councillor Sam Pearce-Kearney, it was,

Resolved:

To appoint the following persons as co-opted non-voting members of the Standards Committee for the remainder of the council term:

Gordon Ball Kathy Barnes Joanne Cetti Julie Phillips

18 **Urgent Items**

There were no urgent items.

(Duration of meeting: 1.35 - 1.40 pm)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Kieran Elliott of Democratic Services, direct line 01225 718504, e-mail kieran.elliott@wiltshire.gov.uk

Press enquiries to Communications, direct line ((01225) 713114 or email communications@wiltshire.gov.uk