Leader's Motion

Item 9 – Appointment of Committees and Review of Allocation of Seats on Committees to Political Groups

- a) Appointment of Committees and Review of Allocation of Seats on Committees to Political Groups
- b) Appointment of Area Boards, Councillors to Committees and the Dorset and Wiltshire Fire Authority
- c) Appointment of Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen Committees

The Leader will move the following:

The Council is asked:

- a) To note this report and the legal requirements.
- b) To re-appoint the following committees with the terms of reference as set out in the Constitution:
 - Strategic Planning Committee
 - Area Planning Committees: Northern, Eastern, Southern and Western
 - Licensing Committee
 - Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee
 - Children's Select Committee
 - Environment Select Committee
 - Health Select Committee
 - Standards Committee
 - Audit and Governance Committee
 - Staffing Policy Committee
 - Officer Appointments Committee
 - Electoral Review Committee
 - Appeals Committee
 - Wiltshire Police and Crime Panel (joint with Swindon Borough Council)
 - Wiltshire Pension Fund Committee (joint with Swindon Borough Council)
 - Health and Wellbeing Board
- c) To re-appoint those Area Boards, constituted as area committees under item 9a paragraphs 14 16 and Appendix 1 of the report presented and within the Constitution, to comprise the Unitary Councillors for that area.

- d) To re-appoint the Local Pension Board established under the Public Service Pensions Act 2013 and consequent amendments to the Local Government Pension Scheme Regulations 2013.
- e) To appoint members to the Dorset and Wiltshire Fire Authority, in accordance with the guidance set out in this report.
- f) To approve a scheme of committee places which sets out the number of seats available to members of the Council and to political groups as 9a (Appendix 3)
- g) To appoint councillors to serve on those committees in accordance with the agreed scheme of allocations, until the next occasion membership is reviewed under the provisions of the Local Government & Housing Act 1989.
- h) To appoint substitute members (to a maximum of four per group) to the committees referred to in (A) above (as attached).
- i) To appoint those councillors representing electoral divisions to their respective area boards as set out 9b Appendix 1.
- j) To note that following delegation by Full Council the Standards Committee appointed the following persons as non-voting co-opted members of the Standards Committee for the remainder of the council term:
 - Gordon Ball
 - Kathy Barnes
 - Joanne Cetti
 - Julie Phllips
- k) To note that Council appointed the following persons as Independent Persons each for a four year term from May 2021:
 - Tony Drew
 - Damian Kearney
 - Patricia Bunch
- I) To note the following non-elected members of the Children's Select Committee:

Non-Elected Voting Members	Representing
Vacancy	Church of England
Dr Mike Thompson	Clifton Diocese Roman Catholic Church
Vacancy	Parent Governor (Secondary- maintained)
Vacancy	Parent Governor (Secondary – academy)
Vacancy	Parent Governor (Special Educational Needs)

Vacancy	Parent Governor (Primary)
Non-Elected Non-Voting Members	Representing
Maisy Humphrey (Sub Declan Kiely)	School, Children and Young People representatives
Nikki Barnett	Further Education Representative
Sarah Busby	Secondary Schools Head teacher Representative
Catriona Williamson	Primary School Head teacher Representative
John Hawkins	School Teacher Representative

m) To note the following co-opted members of the Wiltshire Pension Fund Committee:

Name	Representing
(to be confirmed – currently Cllr Vijay Manro)	Swindon Borough Councillor (as determined by Swindon Borough Council)
(to be confirmed – currently Cllr Steve Heyes)	Swindon Borough Councillor (as determined by Swindon Borough Council)
Tracy Adams	Employer Representative
Claire Anthony	Employer Representative
Stuart Dark	Scheme Member Observer- appointed by Unison
Mike Pankiewicz	Scheme Member Observer- appointed by Unison

n) To note the membership of the Local Pension Board under the Public Service Pensions Act 2013 until the expiry of the 4 year term

Name	Representing
Mark Spilsbury	Independent Chairman
Asifa Ashraf	Scheme Member Representative
Marlene Corbey	Scheme Member Representative
Mike Pankiewicz	Scheme Member Representative
Paul Smith	Employer Member Representative

Laura Fisher	Employer Member Representative
Ian Jones	Employer Member Representative

o) To note the following co-opted members to the Police and Crime Panel:

	Τ
Name	Representing
To be confirmed – previously Cllr Junab Ali	Swindon Borough Council (as determined by Swindon Borough Council)
To be confirmed – currently Cllr Abdul Amin	Swindon Borough Council (as determined by Swindon Borough Council)
To be confirmed – currently Cllr Alan Bishop	Swindon Borough Council (as determined by Swindon Borough Council)
To be confirmed – currently Cllr Jenny Jeffries	Swindon Borough Council (as determined by Swindon Borough Council)
Mamie Beasant	Independent co-optee
Anna Richardson	Independent co-optee

p) That Council appoint the following 6 members to serve as Council representatives on the Dorset and Wiltshire Fire Authority:

Conservative (4)	Liberal	Independent (0)	Labour (0)
	Democrat (2)		
Cllr Pip Ridout	Bob Jones		
Cllr Ashley O'Neill	Brian Dalton		
Cllr Paul Oatway			
Cllr Kelvin Nash			

q) To appoint Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of the following meetings:

Committee	Chairman	Vice-Chairman
Strategic Planning	Howard Greenman	Tony Trotman
Committee		
Northern Area	Tony Trotman	Howard Greenman
Planning Committee	-	
Eastern Area Planning	Philip Whitehead	Paul Oatway
Committee		-
Southern Area	Andrew Oliver	Sven Hocking
Planning Committee		_
Western Area Planning	Christopher Newbury	Bill Parks
Committee	_	

Licensing Committee	Peter Hutton	Allison Bucknell
Standards Committee	Paul Oatway	Allison Bucknell
Audit and Governance Committee	Mark Connolly	Stuart Wheeler
Staffing Policy Committee	Stuart Wheeler	Allison Bucknell
Officer Appointments Committee	Richard Clewer	Laura Mayes
Wiltshire Pension Fund Committee	Richard Britton	Committee Appointment
Health and Wellbeing Board (Chairman only)	Richard Clewer	NA

- r) To note that the Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee, the Scrutiny Select Committees, the Police and Crime Panel, Electoral Review Committee, and the Area Boards will be asked to elect their respective Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen at their first meeting following the annual meeting of council.
- s) To note that the Appeals Committee does not meet as a formal committee. However, three members who have undergone appropriate training are drawn from its membership to form Appeal Panels to consider and determine various types of appeals. Each panel when convened will elect its own chairman.