Voting record

 Council, Tuesday 21 May 2024 10.30 am

Item: Notice of Motion No.2024-03 - Solar Farms

Solar Farms Motion:

Motion status:Carried

Whilst not opposed to the principle of the development of solar farms in line with the National Planning Policy Framework this Council is increasingly concerned at the concentration of solar farms, battery storage and associated infrastructure in Wiltshire. Some villages are now completely surrounded by solar farms and their continued concentration represents a significant cumulative impact and industrialisation of the countryside.

Wiltshire Council therefore calls on the Secretary of State for the Department of Levelling Up, Housing and Communities to define more closely what is meant by ‘cumulative impact’ regarding solar farms battery storage and associated infrastructure and to take clear steps to ensure that solar developments are more evenly spread across the UK and not concentrated in specific areas effectively industrialising the countryside.

We would also ask for clarity of the priority given to ensuring that food production and farming are not destroyed as industries in specific areas through an excessive concentration of solar farms given the massive impact that would have on the rural way of life in villages that have been farmed for time immemorial.


ForCllr Phil Alford, Cllr Liz Alstrom, Cllr Helen Belcher OBE, Cllr Chuck Berry, Cllr Ian Blair-Pilling, Cllr Nick Botterill, Cllr Richard Britton, Cllr Allison Bucknell, Cllr Richard Budden, Cllr Daniel Cave, Cllr Mary Champion, Cllr Richard Clewer, Cllr Zoë Clewer, Cllr Mark Connolly, Cllr Kevin Daley, Cllr Brian Dalton, Cllr Jane Davies, Cllr Andrew Davis, Cllr Matthew Dean, Cllr Dr Monica Devendran, Cllr Nick Dye, Cllr Adrian Foster, Cllr Sarah Gibson MP, Cllr Gavin Grant, Cllr Howard Greenman, Cllr Sven Hocking, Cllr Nick Holder, Cllr Ruth Hopkinson, Cllr Peter Hutton, Cllr Tony Jackson, Cllr Simon Jacobs, Cllr Carole King, Cllr Jerry Kunkler, Cllr Jacqui Lay, Cllr Kathryn Macdermid, Cllr Robert MacNaughton, Cllr Dr Brian Mathew, Cllr Laura Mayes, Cllr Dr Mark McClelland, Cllr Ian McLennan, Cllr Dominic Muns, Cllr Nabil Najjar, Cllr Kelvin Nash, Cllr Christopher Newbury, Cllr Ashley O'Neill, Cllr Jack Oatley, Cllr Paul Oatway QPM, Cllr Andrew Oliver, Cllr Stewart Palmen, Cllr Bill Parks, Cllr Sam Pearce-Kearney, Cllr Tony Pickernell, Cllr Horace Prickett, Cllr Nic Puntis, Cllr Tamara Reay, Cllr Rich Rogers, Cllr Ricky Rogers, Cllr Tom Rounds, Cllr Paul Sample JP, Cllr Mike Sankey, Cllr Jonathon Seed, Cllr James Sheppard, Cllr Martin Smith, Cllr Caroline Thomas, Cllr Ian Thorn, Cllr Elizabeth Threlfall, Cllr Jo Trigg, Cllr Mark Verbinnen, Cllr Iain Wallis, Cllr Stuart Wheeler, Cllr Philip Whitehead, Cllr Suzanne Wickham, Cllr Christopher Williams, Cllr Graham Wright and Cllr Robert Yuill75
AgainstCllr Mel Jacob and Cllr Pip Ridout2
AbstainCllr Clare Cape, Cllr Sam Charleston, Cllr Gordon King, Cllr Dr Nick Murry, Cllr Tim Trimble and Cllr David Vigar6
Conflict Of InterestsNone0
Non-votingCllr Steve Bucknell, Cllr Trevor Carbin, Cllr Ernie Clark, Cllr Ross Henning, Cllr George Jeans, Cllr Edward Kirk and Cllr Bridget Wayman7
Not PresentNone0