If you are reading this page using a screenreader, we support ARIA landmarks for quick navigation too

Committee details

Health and Wellbeing Board

Purpose of committee

The Health and Wellbeing Board was introduced by the Health and Social Care Act 2012 which required that top tier authorities (i.e. Unitary and County Councils) establish a Board by 1 April 2013.


The statutory functions of the Board include:


·       To prepare a Joint Strategic Assessment (JSNA); a Pharmaceutical Needs Assessment (PNA) and Joint Health and Wellbeing Strategy (JHWS).


·       A duty to encourage integrated working between health and social care commissioners in connection with the provision of health and social care services;


·       A power to encourage close working between commissioners and health-related services and the board itself; and


·       A power to encourage close working between commissioners of health-related services and commissioners of health and social care services.


There are a number of principles underlying its creation.  These include:


·       Shared leadership of a strategic approach to the health and wellbeing of communities;


·       A commitment to drive real action and change to improve services and outcomes;


·       Parity between Board members in terms of their opportunity contribute to the Board’s deliberations, strategies and activities


·       Shared ownership of the Board by all its members and accountability to the communities it serves; and


·       Openness and transparency in the way that the Board carries out its work.


  • Cllr Philip Whitehead  (Co-Chair)  Leader of Council
  • Dr Richard Sandford-Hill  (Co-Chair)  Wiltshire Clinical Commissioning Group
  • Dr Toby Davies    Chair of SARUM Clinical Commissioning Group
  • Dr Andrew Girdher    Chair for North and East Wilts Clinical Commissioning Group
  • Angus Macpherson    Police and Crime Commissioner
  • Dr Catrinel Wright    North East Wiltshire Wiltshire Clinical Commissioning Group
  • Suzanne Tewkesbury    NHS England
  • Cllr Laura Mayes    Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care, Public Health and Public Protection
  • Cllr Pauline Church    Cabinet Member for Children, Education and Skills
  • Cllr Gordon King (Non-Voting)    Opposition Group Representative
  • Cllr Ben Anderson (Non-Voting)    Portfolio Holder for Public Health & Protection
  • Nicola Hazle (Non-Voting)    Avon & Wiltshire Mental Health Partnership NHS Trust
  • Dr Gareth Bryant (Non-Voting)    Wessex Local Medical Committee
  • Tracy Daszkiewicz (Non-Voting)    Statutory Director of Public Health
  • Terence Herbert (Non-Voting)    Executive Director, Children and Education D&S
  • Dr Carlton Brand (Non-Voting)    Executive Director, Adult Care, Public Health and Digital DASS/ERO
  • Tony Fox (Non-Voting)    South West Ambulance Service Trust (SWAST)
  • Linda Prosser (Non-Voting)    Wiltshire CCG
  • Kier Pritchard (Non-Voting)    Police Chief Constable
  • Ian Jeary (Non-Voting)    Dorset and Wiltshire Fire & Rescue Service
  • Rob Jefferson (Non-Voting)    Healthwatch Wiltshire
  • Chief Executive or Chairman Salisbury Hospital FT (Non-Voting)    Salisbury Hospital Foundation Trust
  • Chief Executive or Chairman Bath RUH (Non-Voting)    Bath Royal United Hospital
  • Chief Executive or Chairman Great Western Hospitals FT (Non-Voting)    Great Western Hospital FT

Contact information

Support officer: Craig Player. Email: craig.player@wiltshire.gov.uk

Phone: 01225 713191

Email: craig.player@wiltshire.gov.uk




This website