If you are reading this page using a screenreader, we support ARIA landmarks for quick navigation too


The Cabinet is the Council’s principal decision-making body. It comprises the Leader of the Council and up to nine Cabinet Members. The Leader is appointed for a four year term by Full Council, and then selects their Cabinet Members. Each Cabinet Member has responsibility for a defined service area or 'portfolio', which is set by the Leader. Collectively the Cabinet has responsibility for taking the day to day decisions within the Council. Cabinet Members may be assisted by other councllors in specific areas, referred to as 'portfolio holders', but those individuals do not have any decision making authority

Cabinet Members

Leader of the Council and Cabinet Member for Finance, Procurement and Economic Development Cllr Philip Whitehead

Portfolio Holder for Finance and Procurement- Cllr Simon Jacobs

Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Corporate Services, Heritage, Arts, Tourism, Housing and MCI Cllr Richard Clewer

Portfolio Holder for Heritage, Arts and Tourism - Cllr Atiqul Hoque

Portfolio Holder for Climate Change - Cllr Ashley O'Neill

Cabinet Member for Communications, Communities, Leisure and Libraries Cllr Allison Bucknell

Portfolio Holder for Leisure and Sport - Cllr Jerry Kunkler

Portfolio Holder for Communities and Area Boards - Cllr Chris Williams

Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care, Public Health and Public Protection Cllr Laura Mayes

Portfolio Holder for Adult Social Care Transformation- Cllr David Halik

Portfolio Holder for Public Health and Public Health and Public Protection- Cllr Ben Anderson

Cabinet Member for Children, Education and Skills and South Wiltshire Recovery - Cllr Pauline Church

Portfolio Holder for Education and SEND - Cllr Jane Davies

Portfolio Holder for Skills and Social Mobility - Cllr Mary Douglas

Cabinet Member for Spatial Planning, Development Management and Property - Cllr Toby Sturgis

Cabinet Member for IT, Digitalisation and Operational Assets - Cllr Ian Blair-Pilling

Cabinet Member for Highways, Transport and Waste - Cllr Bridget Wayman

Portfolio Holder for Transport - Cllr Horace Prickett

Portfolio Holder for Streetscene - Cllr Sven Hocking

Portfolio Holder for Waste - Cllr Robert Yuill

Portfolio Holder for Flooding - Cllr Jonathon Seed

Portfolio Holder for Strategic Highways, AONB, ESIPF and Canals - Cllr Fleur de Rhe-Philipe

Cabinet meetings

Cabinet meetings are open to the public, unless exempt or confidential information is being considered. The Cabinet usually meet every month.

For details of the Cabinet meeting dates and agendas, please follow this link

Cabinet Members may also make delegated decisions in relation to their portfolio. A record of any decisions made can be found at this link




This website