Issue details

Safety Valve - Update following discussion with DfE

To update Cabinet on the ongoing discussions with the Department for Education (DfE) on our SEND Sustainability plan and potential Safety Valve agreement.

Decision type: Non-key

Decision status: For Determination

Decision due: 16 Jan 2024 by Cabinet

Lead member: Cllr Nick Botterill, Cabinet Member for Finance, Development Management and Strategic Planning nick.botterill@wiltshire.gov.uk, Cllr Richard Clewer, Leader of the Council and Cabinet Member for Economic Development, Military-Civilian Integration, Heritage, Arts, Tourism, Health and Wellbeing richard.clewer@wiltshire.gov.uk, Cllr Jane Davies, Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care, SEND and Inclusion jane.davies@wiltshire.gov.uk, Cllr Laura Mayes, Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Children's Services, Education, and Skills laura.mayes@wiltshire.gov.uk

Lead director: Andy Brown (Corporate Director Resources & Deputy Chief Executive), Terence Herbert (Chief Executive), Lucy Townsend (Corporate Director - People), Lizzie Watkin (Director - Finance and Procurement)

Department: Education & Skills

Contact: Ben Stevens, High Needs Block Sust Strat Lead Email: ben.stevens@wiltshire.gov.uk Tel: 01225 713788, Liz Williams, HNB Sustainability Finance Lead Email: liz.williams@wiltshire.gov.uk Tel: 01225 712521.

Consultation process

The SEND sustainability plan has been widely consulted on through co-design workshops with key stakeholders, briefings for Councillors and a single item Children's Select Committee meeting. The work will continue to be consulted on, and will be a standing item on Children's Select Committee agendas.

Agenda items

Documents

  • Safety Valve - Update following discussion with DfE