If you are reading this page using a screenreader, we support ARIA landmarks for quick navigation too

Agenda and minutes

Venue: Council Chamber - County Hall, Bythesea Road, Trowbridge, BA14 8JN. View directions

Contact: Lisa Alexander  01722 434560 Email: lisa.alexander@wiltshire.gov.uk

No. Item



To receive any apologies or substitutions for the meeting.


Apologies were received from:


·         Cllr Stuart Wheeler

·         Cllr Ernie Clark

·         Cllr Paul Oatway

·         Cllr Ian McLennan




Minutes of the Previous Meeting

To approve and sign the minutes of the meeting held on 8 August 2022.

Supporting documents:


The minutes of the previous meeting held on 8 August 2022 were presented, it was;




To approve and sign the minutes as a true and correct record.


Declarations of Interest

To receive any declarations of disclosable interests or dispensations granted by the Standards Committee.


Cllr Gavin Grant noted that as he was also a member of Malmesbury Town Council and the Malmesbury Deputy Mayor, he would not take part in the discussion or vote during consideration of the Malmesbury and surrounding proposals, in his capacity as a Committee Member, but instead would speak in his role as a Malmesbury Town Councillor.


Chairman's Announcements

To reecive any announcements through the Chair.


There were no announcements.


Public Participation


If you would like to make a statement at this meeting on any item on this

agenda, please register to do so at least 10 minutes prior to the meeting. Up to 3speakers are permitted to speak for up to 3 minutes each on any agenda item.


Please contact the officer named on the front of the agenda for any further




To receive any questions from members of the public or members of the Council received in accordance with the constitution.


Those wishing to ask questions are required to give notice of any such

questions in writing to the officer named on the front of this agenda no later than 5pm on 21 September 2022 in order to be guaranteed of a written response. In order to receive a verbal response questions must be submitted no later than 5pm on 23 September 2022. Please contact the officer named on the front of this agenda for further advice. Questions may be asked without notice if the Chairman decides that the matter is urgent.


Details of any questions received will be circulated to Committee members prior to the meeting and made available at the meeting and on the Council’s website.


No questions or statements had been received within the timeframe as indicated on the agenda.




Community Governance Review 2021/22

To receive a report from the Director, Legal and Governance.

Supporting documents:


The Committee considered the report and the two consultation responses which were in support of the proposals and noted the options available, which were:


·         To confirm the remaining draft recommendations for consideration by Full Council,

·         To remove some recommendations and refer the remainder to Full Council for consideration, or

·         To amend the recommendations.

After discussion, it was:




To confirm the following remaining draft recommendations for consideration by Full Council:

7.3 That the renamed parish of Derry Hill & Studley contain Eleven councillors across three wards: 1) Pewsham 2) Derry Hill & Studley 3) Bowood and Sandy Lane, as set out in the map.

8.1 That Malmesbury Town Council contain a total of 17 councillors in the following wards as shown in the map below: Backbridge Ward (two councillors), Malmesbury North Ward (six councillors), Malmesbury South (two councillors), Malmesbury West (seven councillors).

8.2 The parish of St Paul Malmesbury Without be unwarded, with Twelve Councillors.



Community Governance Review 2022/23

To receive a verbal update on the Community Governance Review.


The Committee received a verbal update on the agreed CGR schemes for 2022/23.


Information sheets for each of the schemes had been circulated to all Town or Parish councils which had submitted a scheme. In addition, each had been invited to an informal information gathering session to discuss the proposals prior to the formal information gathering phase.


Scheme information sheets for each of the following were available online:


01 Westbury / Heywood / Bratton – transfer/merger/abolish

02 Ludgershall / Tidworth – transfer / Cllr numbers

03 Netheravon/Figheldean, - transfer

04 Grittleton / Nettleton / Castle Combe – transfer

05 Biddestone and Slaughterford / Yatton Keynell,

06 Warminster – Cllr numbers

07 Donhead St Mary – Cllr numbers

08 Fovant – Cllr numbers

09 Monkton Farleigh – Cllr numbers

10 Grimstead – unwarding / Cllr numbers


There had been one request to withdraw a scheme, which would be considered at the next meeting when the Committee would be presented with a full report.


It was;




To note the CGR 2022/23 update.


Date of the Next Meeting

To confirm the date of the next meeting as 21 December 2022.


It was;




That the next meeting be held on 21 December 2022.


Urgent Items

Any other items of business which the Chairman agrees to consider as a matter of urgency.


There were no urgent items.




This website