Browse meetings

Health and Wellbeing Board

This page lists the meetings for Health and Wellbeing Board.

Information about Health and Wellbeing Board

The Health and Wellbeing Board was introduced by the Health and Social Care Act 2012 which required that top tier authorities (i.e. Unitary and County Councils) establish a Board by 1 April 2013.


The statutory functions of the Board include:

·       To prepare a Joint Strategic Assessment (JSNA); a Pharmaceutical Needs Assessment (PNA) and Joint Health and Wellbeing Strategy (JHWS).

·       A duty to encourage integrated working between health and social care commissioners in connection with the provision of health and social care services;

·       A power to encourage close working between commissioners and health-related services and the board itself; and

·       A power to encourage close working between commissioners of health-related services and commissioners of health and social care services.


There are a number of principles underlying the functioning of the Health and Wellbeing Board.  These include:

·       Shared leadership of a strategic approach to the health and wellbeing of communities;

·       A commitment to drive real action and change to improve services and outcomes;

·       Parity between Board members in terms of their opportunity contribute to the Board’s deliberations, strategies and activities

·       Shared ownership of the Board by all its members and accountability to the communities it serves; and

·       Openness and transparency in the way that the Board carries out its work.


Voting Membership

Cllr Richard Clewer (Chairman)


Leader of the Council and Cabinet Member for Climate Change, MCI, Economic Development, Heritage, Arts, Tourism and Health & Wellbeing

Cllr Laura Mayes


Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Children’s Services, Education and Skills

Gina Sargeant

Healthcare clinical professional director (NHS BSW ICB)

Dr Nick Ware/ Dr Catrinel Wright

GP clinical lead (Wiltshire Integrated Care Alliance)

Alan Mitchell


Chair of Healthwatch Wiltshire

Philip Wilkinson


Police and Crime Commissioner

Non-Voting Membership

Terence Herbert


Chief Executive Wiltshire Council

Lucy Townsend


Corporate Director of People (DCS)

Emma Legg

Director of Adult Social Services

Kate Blackburn


Director - Public Health (DPS)

Fiona Slevin-Brown/ Clare O Farrell


Place Director – Wiltshire/ Director of Commissioning, NHS Bath and North-East Somerset, Swindon and Wiltshire Integrated Care Board (ICB),

Kevin Mcnamara/ Clare Thompson

Chief Executive or Chairman Great Western Hospital

Stacey Hunter


Chief Executive NHS Salisbury Foundation Trust

Alison Ryan


RUH Bath NHS Foundation Trust - Chair

Stephen Ladyman/ Shirley-Ann Carvill

Wiltshire Health and Care – Chair/ Chief Executive

Val Scrase


Regional Director B&NES, Devon and Wiltshire Community Services (Children)

Sarah Branton

Deputy Chief Operating Officer, Avon and Wiltshire Mental Health Partnership

James Fortune

Oxford Health (CAMHS)

Dr Edd Rendell/ Dr Andy Purbrick


Wessex Local Medical Committee – Medical Director

Catherine Roper


Wiltshire Police Chief Constable

Marc House

Dorset and Wiltshire Fire & Rescue Service - Area Manager Swindon and Wiltshire

Sarah Cardy

VCSE Leadership Alliance Representative

Cllr Gordon King

Opposition Group Representative

Cllr Ian Blair-Pilling


Cabinet Member for Public Health and Public Protection, Leisure, Libraries, Facilities Management and Operational Assets

Cllr Jane Davies


Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care, SEND, Transition and Inclusion

Maggie Arnold/ Stephen Otter

South West Ambulance Service - Non-Executive Director

Laura Nicholas

NHSE, SW Director of Strategic Transformation / Locality Director